The beginning of the journey

I’ve asked myself what started this process for me. What drove me to start digging in deeper to what God desires from us? I know that I have been prompted by the Holy Spirit, because He is always the One who nudges me to do anything that is right and good. I am an analyzer though. Constantly going over and over things in my head. And I have come to the conclusion that there were two distinct occasions that I can say led me to this point. (although I can’t recall the exact order they happened in)

I was doing an in depth study of the book of Proverbs and ran across this verse:

“For the turning away of the simple will slay them,
And the complacency of fools will destroy them;
But whoever listens to me will dwell safely,
And will be secure, without fear of evil.”

Proverbs 1:32-33

The word complacency gave me pause. Where was I being complacent? Where would God have me be more in tune with Him and less under control of the status quo? This line of thinking led me to meditate more on this verse:

“You have let go of the commands of God and are holding on to human traditions.”

Mark 7:8

I was starting to feel very convicted, as I inspected my life, that most of what I believed and adhered to were things I had been taught along the way. Learning from others is not a bad thing. I know iron sharpens iron and God gives us other believers to help us out. As I observed my life though, I could see how so much of it was man made and I realized I needed to get back to what God intended. I just had to figure out what that was….

The other point that strongly stands out to me, was a sermon at my church one Sunday. I’m not even quite sure what the sermon was about. I just remember one very significant part. The person preaching quoted this passage:

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?’  And then will I declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.’”

Matthew 7:21-23

And he pointed out something that had never occurred to me until that point. Those people saying “Lord, Lord” are not unbelievers. They are people who thought they knew Him. They thought they were working for Him. They were “Christians” who spent their lives (at least outwardly) serving God. Prophesying, casting out demons, doing mighty works IN HIS NAME. And yet God says to them “I never knew you.”

Wow.

These two points have led me to really start investigating for myself, with the guidance of the Spirit, what the Lord says in His Word to us about how we should walk in His ways.

I don’t want to be complacent.

I don’t want to blindly follow what man has decided God means when He says this or that.

I don’t want to cling to the doctrines of men.

I don’t want to waste my life doing what I WANT to do for God, but what HE MADE me to do for Him.

I don’t want to hear “I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.”

I want to hear “Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.” (Matthew 25:23)

img_3626

One thought on “The beginning of the journey

Leave a Reply

