Mrs. Criddle’s pumpkin cheese cake pie {Pinterest: Find, Attempt}

For my first “Pinterest: Find, Attempt” post, I made Mrs. Criddle’s PUMPKIN CHEESE CAKE PIE WITH CARAMEL PECAN SAUCE. Oh yes. I did.

The point behind this series of posts is to see if the things that look so pretty on pinterest really turn out that well in real life when everyday people make them. In order to try this yourself, you will have to visit Mrs. Criddle’s blog for the recipe.

Here is how my attempt played out:

image

First I made the caramel sauce. I didn’t have any heavy cream so I used half and half (this is the REAL WORLD people! substitutions must happen sometimes!!)

image

It turned out lovely.

I didn’t have any pecans in my house. NEVER FEAR! When I have used pecans and walnuts interchangeably many times before. So…. in go the walnuts.

image

Next, I made the crust.

image

Do you see the amount of counter space I have to work with there? This really is how much room there is in my kitchen. So rest assured, if you live in an apartment or a trailer or a dorm room…..if I can do it, so can you!

I forgot to take a picture of the crust. Weird. It looked just like any other crust though. Turned out just fine.

Then I mixed together all of the ingredients for the pumpkin cheesecake filling. Well….. Do you see the size of my pie plate up there? When I see the directions to put the crust in a pie plate, I think 8 or 9 inch pie plate. Unfortunately, (or fortunately!) this recipe makes enough so that I could have made it in a 9×13 casserole dish.

image

Improvise is my middle name (actually, it’s Marie) and I would never waste something that looks and sounds so delicious so I made 6 mini cheese cakes with the leftovers.

image

 

First off, this smelled DIVINE when it was cooking! Oh lordy! I started to wonder how on earth I was going to be able to wait an hour for them to cook and another hour for them to set up in the fridge. Self-control isn’t my strongest fruit of the Spirit. Then I realized that the cupcake ones would be done sooner! After about 40 minutes, I pulled these out:

image

And I did this:

image

And put them in the fridge.

Since the pie plate was so full, it took about 10 minutes longer than recommended in the recipe to look done to me.

image

mmmmmmmmmmm

followed by:

image

And about this time I was ready to try one of the little ones even though it had only been about 20 minutes.

image

Oh yeah.

After the pie set for about an hour in the fridge, I cut it, and being the amazing friend I am, I took a couple samples to two of my closest THM friends.

image

Look below in the comments or on the FACEBOOK page for their thoughts on the taste test.

My rating: 10 out of 10 for ease of making, taste and appearance. I will definitely make this again.

PINTEREST PASS!

2 thoughts on “Mrs. Criddle’s pumpkin cheese cake pie {Pinterest: Find, Attempt}

  1. What a fun idea for a post! I’ve been wanting to try this as well. And I think if you gave it 10/10 then I have a pretty good chance of liking it!! Thanks for the review.

    Like

    • My friends are always trying to talk me into making these desserts for them. I thought I would show everyone how easy it can be to do it yourself! You can’t go wrong with anything on Mrs. Criddle’s site! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a comment